Gaming and Learning at ASTE 2014

While at ASTE in February 2012 I missed a session on using gaming for learning the presenter was Craig Kasemodel.

But here it is ASTE 2014 and I am in gamestar mechanic learning  how to develop video games including minecraft and historia. Learning history through gaming teaching students how feel as the leaders of history did as it was happening. So if minecraft  is used for learning will it destroy the joy of the game for those young gamers.  www,gamestarmechanic.com/teachers

http://upperonegames.com/  Historia

So when I missed Craig I googled his name and found a site on learning in the virtual world. http://secondclassroom.ning.com/  Educators Learning in Virtual World. Mr. K as he is called had a discussion forum  here.

Second classroom was developed by Dean Groom and Judy O’Connell it is a collaborative venture to learn and share ideas.

I have been in professional development in Second Life at the former ASD Island but have never figured out a way to use it in my classroom.

On this site you can become a member it is free, my membership is pending approval.

What I did find though was a video from a chemistry teacher who had her students building atom and molecule models in her secondclassroom; http://secondclassroom.ning.com/video/virtual-atom-and-molecule she did not have enough supplies for all her students to make model so creativity became necessary. There are many videos submitted by teachers and other tutorials on this site.

There is a discussion board that highlighted considerations for bringing games into the classroom; Ten Considerations for bringing games into class

There are blogs along with the forum where I found the ten considerations. In the blogs I found a slideshare presentation on creating engagement in the classroom;

Creating Game-like Engagement for Learning

There is also a sidebar that include the virtual world of research.

Another sidebar is Educator Tools.

You can add photos from your second classroom.

You can join groups including open SIM based worlds, Second Life, World of Warcraft, or Game-Based Learning. I think these groups are relatively new with few members.

Other videos include Assessment in Virtual World: Mission Impossible? After viewing creating game-like engagement for learning I think assessment will be possible.

About jdoster17

I am a teacher in bush Alaska. I have a Bachelor’s Degree in Limnology and a Master’s Degree in Biology from the University of Central Florida (UCF). My Master’s Thesis was Analysis of Reproductive and Spatial Nesting Patterns of a Wading Bird Colony at Gatorland, Orange County, Florida. This research was an integrated approach including reproductive ecology, ornithology, landscape ecology, wetland ecology, and statistics. I also attended the University of Memphis and earned 12 credits towards a Ph.D. in Biology. I will graduate from the University of Alaska Fairbanks in May, 2012 with a Masters in Education. I received my three year teaching certificate for the state of Alaska in October 2005 and my five year Professional certificate for the school year 2008/2009. I am highly qualified in accordance with NCLB to teach biology, chemistry and art through college credits and degrees. I have completed and passed PRAXIS II for Earth Science and Physical Science. At present I am highly qualified to teach art, biology, chemistry, earth science, life science, and physical science.
This entry was posted in ED 431 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

