A Mashup Journey Through Digital Storytelling

http://www.screencast.com/t/6aqb89wmC

At the beginning of the semester we began a journey in digital storytelling. The journey began with the elements of digital storytelling. I found that there are five to seven elements in digital storytelling and they are quite similar to the elements of traditional storytelling. The one thing I did have to come to an understanding of was that a digital story is a short story told through digital media. Before this assignment I considered many things digital stories television shows, movies, documentaries and other media that has always been there telling stories. I am not sure that I have been able to totally resolve this issue except for the difference in length.

The journey continued to cultural storytelling that began with a memory, became a cause and went full circle to educational uses of cultural storytelling. After cultural storytelling one of the most important part of the journey for a teacher was instructional storytelling. The instructional storytelling journey lead me to three essential elements for teaching with digital stories conflict, authenticity, and entertainment.  Then we moved into the participatory story that was at times frustrating, but always interesting and even captivating. I shared this part of the journey with my students who also found it interesting and even had some suggestions for the story. Next stop on the journey was QR/AR. I found this to be one of the most fun and interesting points along the journey. I was able to incorporate my AR story into my anatomy and physiology class. I also had students come up with a project of their own for the nutrient cycles.

The last stop on our journey was the remix and mashup. During this stop in the journey I complied a video that includes the ideas, lessons, and video clips used through out the journey. A remix began in the music industry where artist took music and edited to make a new rendition a mashup is a remix technique that uses different sources of media put together to create an original story  (Ferguson, 2013; Levine, 2013; Lamb, 2007).  An issue that will come up with both remixes and mashups is copyright. For information on copyright laws go to Creative Commons. So now the semester draws to an end and though this journey is over it has resulted in a whole new adventure. As I continue to work on a 21st Century blended classroom this adventure will fit right in.

References

Ferguson, Kirby. “Everything is a Remix.”Everything is a Remix. N.p., 26 Apr. 2013. Web. 26 Apr. 2013. <http://everythingisaremix.info/&gt;.

Lamb, Brian. “Dr. Mashup; or, Why Educators Should Learn to Stop Worrying and Love the Remix (EDUCAUSE Review) | EDUCAUSE.edu.” EDUCAUSE Homepage | EDUCAUSE.edu. Version vol 42, no. 4. Educause, 6 July 2007. Web. 6 May 2013. <http://www.educause.edu/ero/article/dr-mashup-or-why-educators-should-learn-stop-worrying-and-love-remix&gt;.

Levine, Adam. “Remix or Mashup? What’s the Diff? (with images, tweets) · cogdog · Storify .” Storify · Make the web tell a story. N.p., July 2013. Web. 30 Apr. 2013. <http://storify.com/cogdog/remix-or-mashup-what-s-the-diff&gt;.

About jdoster17

I am a teacher in bush Alaska. I have a Bachelor’s Degree in Limnology and a Master’s Degree in Biology from the University of Central Florida (UCF). My Master’s Thesis was Analysis of Reproductive and Spatial Nesting Patterns of a Wading Bird Colony at Gatorland, Orange County, Florida. This research was an integrated approach including reproductive ecology, ornithology, landscape ecology, wetland ecology, and statistics. I also attended the University of Memphis and earned 12 credits towards a Ph.D. in Biology. I will graduate from the University of Alaska Fairbanks in May, 2012 with a Masters in Education. I received my three year teaching certificate for the state of Alaska in October 2005 and my five year Professional certificate for the school year 2008/2009. I am highly qualified in accordance with NCLB to teach biology, chemistry and art through college credits and degrees. I have completed and passed PRAXIS II for Earth Science and Physical Science. At present I am highly qualified to teach art, biology, chemistry, earth science, life science, and physical science.
This entry was posted in ED 677 Digital Storytelling. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Mashup Journey Through Digital Storytelling

  1. Skip Via says:

    Thanks for including your very informative narrative. It’s a perfect companion to your mashup, which I thought was very nicely done. It’s interesting that we–myself included–have never really settled on a definition of digital storytelling. Perhaps it’s one of those “I know it when I see it” items, although I’m not sure that does it justice either. Your video is certainly a good example of it, though.

  2. jdoster17 says:

    Thanks Skip. I really learned a lot this semester and enjoyed the process along the way. I do still think of movies and other media has forms of digital stories just can’t shake that one.

  3. Larry Mitchell says:

    Nice hand in hand final project … the narrative helped serve as a guide through the mashup. I will echoed Skip’s comments that having not settled on the definition, I think people were a bit freer to explore the possibilities.

Leave a Reply

