Participatory Story Camtasia Land of the Twin Moons

This link will take you to my media. One drawback of using WordPress is that you have to upgrade to Pro to upload videos. I was able to embed the video on my Google Site so this QR code will take you there. When I published this blog though my QR code was scrambled and I had to click on it to open it so I hope it works for you.

http://www.screencast.com/t/0ABPwIeob

qrfree_kaywa_com

My media presentation for our participatory story was made with Camtasia Studio and Animation ish. I downloaded the trial software for Camtasia because I needed a way to publish and share my Animation ish flipbook. The trial version is a one month trial, the problem is that Camtasia is very expensive. I should have tried Screencast first, but I don’t think screencast as the features I needed to make the video. Camtasia as some really great features including music that can be used in your video. It was also pretty easy to learn to use.  I have a link to my video published through screencast. I was able to share the video on my Google Site so the QR code will take you to the embedded video.

I received a free version of Animationish last here from Discovery Education for teacher appreciation week because I am a Den Star educator. I have not really had much chance to do anything with Animation ish so I thought that this would be a good opportunity to try it. I don’t think it is the best artwork that I could do, but I wanted to try something with it so I created a wall. The wall begins to crack and opens up to the Land of the Two Moons. Then I tried to show the sandstone landscape and of course the twin moons. I drew in a chess board and tried to illustrate movement from the chess board into the cave. I then told the story through a reading using images that I searched for on Google images using advanced search so that I could filter for only images that were free to use and share. I did first try to search Creative Commons for images, but had no luck there so I went to advanced search.

I chose to tell the beginning of the story because my favorite part of the story is the land of the two moons. I wanted to try and depict the landscape and the two moons. I really enjoyed working on this story, but I think if I had more control I would have kept Sam, Blaine, and Pat in the land of the Two Moons longer and added new characters there. The challenging part of the assignments was the many different directions, twists, and turns the story took. This as been an engaging and interesting project.

About jdoster17

I am a teacher in bush Alaska. I have a Bachelor’s Degree in Limnology and a Master’s Degree in Biology from the University of Central Florida (UCF). My Master’s Thesis was Analysis of Reproductive and Spatial Nesting Patterns of a Wading Bird Colony at Gatorland, Orange County, Florida. This research was an integrated approach including reproductive ecology, ornithology, landscape ecology, wetland ecology, and statistics. I also attended the University of Memphis and earned 12 credits towards a Ph.D. in Biology. I will graduate from the University of Alaska Fairbanks in May, 2012 with a Masters in Education. I received my three year teaching certificate for the state of Alaska in October 2005 and my five year Professional certificate for the school year 2008/2009. I am highly qualified in accordance with NCLB to teach biology, chemistry and art through college credits and degrees. I have completed and passed PRAXIS II for Earth Science and Physical Science. At present I am highly qualified to teach art, biology, chemistry, earth science, life science, and physical science.
This entry was posted in ED 677 Digital Storytelling and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Participatory Story Camtasia Land of the Twin Moons

  1. Skip Via says:

    I looked at your video a few days ago when you first posted it, before you had your reflection added. I enjoyed it–quite an undertaking to tell that much of the story–but I was particularly impressed with the opening animations. I initially thought that this was going to be a wordless montage of images from the story, and I’ll have admit that I was a little disappointed that it wasn’t–not because I thought your treatment lacked imagination or completeness, but because I struck me that it would be a really cool idea to do exactly that: create an impressionistic rendering of elements and themes from the story without using any words. We’re all familiar with the story elements, and it was fun to see how you wove them into the animation. It occurred to me that this kind of treatment would be an effective way for students to review a story–view some images and relate them to story elements without needing specific reference to dialog or plot. I think I’m going to have to try that sometime.

    Like you, I wanted to develop the main characters and the setting a bit more, but we all had to deal with the way the story unfolded. I personally enjoyed the challenge of having to work with the twists and turns that others provided, and I think K12 students might enjoy a similar challenge.

    Thanks for the informative narrative. Sharing what you went through for your final product is a helpful learning experience for all of us.

Leave a Reply

