Hello world Education History!

Job Title: 
Middle and High School Science and Art Teacher
Years of Service with BBBSD: 9
 
Years of Experience: 9
 
Hometown:  Montgomery, New York
 
 
Highly Qualified Subjects: 

Classes Taught/Highly Qualified – 7th – 12th grade Life Science, Physical Science, Earth Science, Biology, Chemistry, and Art

Education: 
  • AA Degree Environmental Science, Manatee Community College 1993
  • BS Degree Limnology, University of Central Florida 1995
  • MS Degree Biology, University of Central Florida 1999
  • Present M.Ed. program Research Inquiry-Based Science, University of Alaska Fairbanks
General Biography: 

I began teaching high school here at Bristol Bay Borough High School eight years ago.  I came to Alaska to work for the United States Fish and Wildlife Service in May 2001. My first field assignment was to work in a remote field camp: Mother Goose Lake is approximately 600 km southwest of Anchorage on the Alaska Peninsula.  My field duties at Mother Goose Lake were to assist in the set up of three bird banding stations and a small mammal trapping grid that we were going to run that summer. Mother Goose was part of the North American Bird Banding Program and breeding bird survey. Birds were banded at Mother Goose Station for nine years before the station was closed at the end of my first summer in 2001. Birds were banded with the aluminum bands for migration behaviors and color bands were used to document breeding behaviors.

On the first night our group was called to the lake by a noise. As I bolted from the cabin to the lake, I could only imagine what was going on. I heard excited voices and hurried to find out what was happening. When I got to the lake, to my amazement I saw a pack of wolves stalking a mother moose and her calf. They were trying to split the calf from its mother. Two of the pack members caught the calf, but the wolves were now aware of a brown bear heading at a fast pace toward the calf. The wolves backed off. The calf almost reached its mother and the safety of the far shore. Then like a bolt of lightning, the bear overtook the calf and we all heard a sickening cry as the calf was grabbed by the neck. The bear headed off carrying its kill into the willow thickets as the wolves watched from the distance and the distraught mother moose search desperately for her young calf.

I realized then that all my years of education, field labs, and field work brought me here to witness such an awesome sight. Much of my education consisted of taking field courses and doing research. I didnít realize it at the time, but I was getting a place-based education utilizing inquiry-based lessons. I have since decided that I want to share my love of nature and learning. I have had the opportunity of being in the field and learning by hands-on experience and want to share these types of experiences with my students. Science is observation and inquiry. I feel that students will only learn by actively being involved and engaged in their own learning.

About jdoster17

I am a teacher in bush Alaska. I have a Bachelor’s Degree in Limnology and a Master’s Degree in Biology from the University of Central Florida (UCF). My Master’s Thesis was Analysis of Reproductive and Spatial Nesting Patterns of a Wading Bird Colony at Gatorland, Orange County, Florida. This research was an integrated approach including reproductive ecology, ornithology, landscape ecology, wetland ecology, and statistics. I also attended the University of Memphis and earned 12 credits towards a Ph.D. in Biology. I will graduate from the University of Alaska Fairbanks in May, 2012 with a Masters in Education. I received my three year teaching certificate for the state of Alaska in October 2005 and my five year Professional certificate for the school year 2008/2009. I am highly qualified in accordance with NCLB to teach biology, chemistry and art through college credits and degrees. I have completed and passed PRAXIS II for Earth Science and Physical Science. At present I am highly qualified to teach art, biology, chemistry, earth science, life science, and physical science.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hello world Education History!

  1. Jodi Doster says:

    Hi, Please feel free to comment here on my enduring understandings. Those include:

    Students wil understand that:
    1. Matter is neither created nor destroyed therefore what goes into a chemical reaction must equal what is produced. This is called the Law of Conservation of Mass.

    2. Stoichiometry is the process of balancing a chemical equation and then calculating how much reactant is needed to produce the theoretical yield in a reaction. Stoichmetric equivalent is the mole amounts in a chemical reaction expressed by the coefficients in a balanced chemical equation.

    3. The theoretical yield of a reaction is the predicted amount of product the reaction should yield often the actual yield is less depending on the efficiency of the reaction. The percent yield is determined using the ratio of the actual product to the amount of the theoretical product.

    Hsu, T., Chaniotakis, M., Carlisle, D., & Damelin, D. (2010). A natural approach to chemistry (1st ed.). Ronkonkoma, NY: Lab-Aids

  2. Laurene Madsen says:

    Hi Jody,
    Nice to know more about you and boy are you smart! Praxis, all that stuff is a lot of work!
    I hope to see photos of where you live and maybe some of your classroom. Thank you, Laurene

Leave a Reply

